TELECOM Digest OnLine - Sorted: Jun Murai Recognized With the Iinternet Society's Postel Award

Jun Murai Recognized With the Iinternet Society's Postel Award

Peter Godwin (
Tue, 16 Aug 2005 12:43:39 +0200

2005 award goes to pioneer behind development of the Internet in the Asia
Pacific region

Reston, VA - 16th August 2005 - Professor Jun Murai is this year's
recipient of the Internet Society's prestigious Jonathan B. Postel
Service Award. The award recognises Professor Murai's vision and
pioneering work that helped countless others to spread the Internet
across the Asia Pacific region.

The Postel Award was presented during the 63rd meeting of the Internet
Engineering Task Force (IETF) in Paris, France by Daniel Karrenberg,
chair of this year's Postel award committee, and Lynn St. Amour,
President and CEO of the Internet Society.

"Jun Murai has always encouraged, inspired and helped others,
particularly his students and his colleagues in other parts of the
Asia Pacific region," said Karrenberg. "He has also played a key role
in creating structures for Internet coordination in the region
(particularly APNIC), and he is widely recognised for his recent
pioneering work in IPv6 implementation."

Jun Murai is currently Vice-President, Keio University in Japan, where
he is a Professor in the Faculty of Environmental Information. In
1984, he developed the Japan University UNIX Network (JUNET), and in
1988 established the WIDE Project (a Japanese Internet research
consortium) of which he continues to serve as the General
Chairperson. He is President of the Japan Network Information Center
(JPNIC), a former member of the Board of Trustees of the Internet
Society and a former member of ICANN's Board of Directors.

The Jonathan B. Postel Service Award was established by the Internet
Society to honor those who have made outstanding contributions in
service to the data communications community. The award is focused on
sustained and substantial technical contributions, service to the
community, and leadership. With respect to leadership, the nominating
committee places particular emphasis on candidates who have supported
and enabled others in addition to their own specific actions.

The award is named after Dr. Jonathan B. Postel, who embodied all of
these qualities during his extraordinary stewardship over the course
of a thirty-year career in networking. He served as the editor of the
RFC series of notes from its inception in 1969, until 1998. He also
served as the ARPANET "numbers Czar" and the Internet Assigned Numbers
Authority over the same period of time. He was a founding member of
the Internet Architecture Board and the first individual member of the
Internet Society, where he also served as a trustee.

Previous recipients of the Postel Award include Jon himself
(posthumously and accepted by his mother), Scott Bradner, Daniel
Karrenberg, Stephen Wolff, Peter Kirstein and Phill Gross. The award
consists of an engraved crystal globe and $20,000.


The Internet Society ( is a not-for-profit
membership organization founded in 1992 to provide leadership in
Internet related standards, education, and policy. With offices in
Washington, DC, and Geneva, Switzerland, it is dedicated to ensuring
the open development, evolution and use of the Internet for the
benefit of people throughout the world. ISOC is the organizational
home of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) and other
Internet-related bodies who together play a critical role in ensuring
that the Internet develops in a stable and open manner. For over 13
years ISOC has run international network training programs for
developing countries and these have played a vital role in setting up
the Internet connections and networks in virtually every country
connecting to the Internet during this time.


Peter Godwin
Communications Manager, Internet Society
4, rue des Falaises
1205 Geneva

Post Followup Article Use your browser's quoting feature to quote article into reply
Go to Next message: USTelecom dailyLead: "VoIP Provider Appeals FCC's 911 Deadline"
Go to Previous message: rmalarc: "2 PRIs - Failover"
TELECOM Digest: Home Page